Creating HTML Documents from Files with Wiki Syntax

I want to create some simple HTML documents with some basic layouting like heading, images and links. Writing pure HTML can be a slow and painful procedure. Usually I’m working with a lot of wikis, so I want to have a file were I can write my document using a common wiki syntax and generate HTML code from this wiki file afterwards.

There some good Perl wiki-to-html converters out there, but since I don’t want to install Perl on my Windows machine at my laboratory, I rather want to have something written in Python.

I found a nice parser and html converter for the Creole Wiki Syntax, it works well with Linux and Windows.

Unfortunately Creole is not the most powerful wiki syntax, I didn’t found out how to create a table of content yet and there are some other drawbacks. If someone knows a good wiki2html tool which doesn’t have tons of dependencies and runs fine under Windows, feel free to leave me a message.

1 Response to “Creating HTML Documents from Files with Wiki Syntax”


  1. 1 Sebastian September 7, 2009 at 12:55 am

    If you have a nice Perl tool I’m pretty sure re-deciding about installing Perl on Windows may be easiest.

    Otherwise it depends on your case: what “kind of HTML” you want to get out and what syntax you can live with. For instance you may be happy with Sphinx if in and output are what you have in mind. Feel free to contact me if the “problem” persists; it’s quite an interesting one.


Leave a Reply

